Beth Lingard’s Blog


Keep on dreaming
December 4, 2008, 4:18 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

As a coach, many of my runners have heard me say, “Sleep is one of the most important parts of training and can have a huge impact on your performance”. As I realized this morning when I woke up – it can have an impact on your mental game, too.

This morning I woke up motivated, with more confidence than yesterday, and excited about my training and the Boston Marathon. Last night, I dreamt that I was in the Ironman and at the end of the 26.2-mile run. My legs were fluid and surprisingly fresh – my stride was smooth.

For those who’ve never done an Ironman, as you can imagine, that’s a rare feeling to have, especially at the end of a l-o-n-g day.

I love dreams like that! I’m sure last night’s track workout aided in my fantasy, as there was evidence that after a 2-month hiatus, speed has found my legs again.

I’m looking forward to more visions as Boston nears… pleasant dreams!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

